Although all users can interact with Confirmations, only admins can create and have access to them. If you have questions about who can or cannot see these settings, please don't hesitate to send us a note. We'd be happy to help!

The required audience for Confirmations is determined by the membership of the Group where that Confirmation is published.

Setting a required audience for a Confirmation - whether it's company-wide or department/location-specific - happens when you select the Group(s) where you'd like to publish your Post.

This means, if you want to assign a Confirmation to all of the employees at your company (e.g. your Employee Handbook), you're going to want to publish that Post to a Group that's required for everyone at your company.

If you'd like to narrow your required audience to a specific department or location (e.g. your updated branding guidelines), you're going to want to publish that Post to a Group that's required for relevant departments (e.g. Marketing and Design). Learn more about how to make Groups required for Departments or Locations.

Keep in mind, you can publish a Confirmation to multiple Groups, which will require all of the Members in those Groups to take action on the Confirmation.

Let's get started...

How to make a Confirmation required for the whole company.

If you’d like to require everybody at your company to view and confirm a Post, you'll need to add that Post to a required Group.

  1. Navigate to a current required Group or create a new Group and turn on the required Group setting.

  2. Create your Post as you normally would, select the Required Topics/Groups, and turn on the Confirmation toggle before publishing.

  3. Once published, the Post comments will be removed and all Members of this Group will be required to confirm this Post.

Please note that if guests are members of the Group, they will also need to confirm these Posts.

How to make a Confirmation required for a Department or Location.

You can narrow the required audience for your Confirmation by publishing your Post to Department or Location-specific public or private Groups.

  1. Navigate to the Group where you'd like to publish your Post (e.g. North America HR Policies or Sales Updates).

  2. Create your Post as you normally would, select the Topics/Groups that will be required to confirm your Post, and turn on the Confirmation toggle before publishing.

  3. Once published, the Post comments will be removed and only the Members included in the set Topics/Groups will need to confirm the Post.

Learn more about how to make Groups required for Departments or Locations.

How to make a Confirmation required for a custom audience.

You can assign the required audience for your Confirmation to a custom Group of employees by publishing your Post to a non-required public or private Group.

  1. Navigate to the Group where you'd like to publish your Post (e.g. Manager Training, Budget Committee).

  2. Create your Post as you normally would, select the Topics/Groups that will be required to confirm your Post, and turn on the Confirmation toggle before publishing.

  3. Once published, the Post comments will be removed and only the Members included in the set Topics/Groups will need to confirm the Post.

Learn more about how to invite people to a Group.

Here's how Confirmations function with each Group type:

  • Required. Everyone with a Honey account will receive notifications and must confirm the Confirmation.

  • Broadcast. All members of the Broadcast Group will receive notifications and must confirm the Confirmation.

  • Public. All members of the Group will receive notifications and must confirm the Confirmation. Public Confirmations can be viewed by members outside the Group, however, they do not have the ability to take any action on these Posts.

  • Private. All members of the Group will receive notifications and must confirm the Confirmation. Only members of the Group will be able to view and take action on the Confirmation. If a Confirmation is cross-posted with a public Group, all of the response information will be included in the analytics available to admins.

  • Admin Accessible Groups. All members of the Group will receive notifications and must confirm the Confirmation. Only members of the Group will be able to view and take action on the Confirmation. As the Confirmation feature resides within Posts, admins who are not members of the Group will not be able to view the Posts, nor its analytics.

A few things to note:

  • When an employee joins a Group after Confirmations are enabled, they will be required to confirm all live Confirmations within that Group. Employees can find these Confirmations in their Confirmation Center and they will be included in the weekly reminder digest about pending Confirmations.

  • When an employee leaves a Group after Confirmations are enabled, they are no longer required to confirm any Confirmations. If they decide to rejoin, all previous Confirmation information is saved and will show in the status icons. Keep in mind that employees are unable to leave a Group that they are required to be a part of - whether that's a company-wide requirement or based on their Department or Location.

Did this answer your question?